Every pipe smoker's local tobacconist
We Deliver Worldwide – 24 hour orderline 0330 900 7473
     

Carey's Bruno Special Pipe Tobacco 50gm Pouch

Customer Rating
11 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

£14.75
OR

Carey's Bruno Special Pipe Tobacco 50gm Pouch
Move your mouse over image

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Great! Review by Ken
Customer Rating
So glad that I ordered this tobacco. I consider it to be the best-tasting smoke I can recall in 60 years. It burns slowly but stays”in” without continual puffing and the pleasurable calmness it offers is a delight. Smokes well with MacArthur pipe. Will buy again soon. Thank you! (Posted on 20/05/2020)
great tobacco, recommended Review by piper
Customer Rating
I had been purchasing from Careys for many years but then found my favourite tobacco had been discontinued. Having tried a variety of different more common blends I have returned again to Careys and am glad to have sampled this tobacco, as it reminds me so much of my dads favourite tobacco. Highly recommended would be my personal comment. (Posted on 27/09/2019)
Great Mature Smoke Review by Welsh Boy
Customer Rating
I last tried this a year or so ago & had forgotten how good it was.I have original St.Bruno the odd time but this is far superior, not too strong but strong enough to enjoy the sweet dark taste.The room aroma could be a problem for some but so far( I omitted to tell Mrs.I was on a new brand!) so complaints. Will certainly re-order. (Posted on 30/07/2018)
A good choice. Review by Paul
Customer Rating
Pipe smoking and collecting pipes has been a recognisable part of my persona for the past 50 years.
Over the years I have tried many tobaccos and like most people I prefer to stick to a range of similar mixtures which suit me best. Well I remember the days when most newsagents stocked a considerable range of tobaccos (and a few pipes too).
As the tobacco industry shrunk and well known old brands were bought up by other manufacturers , there has been in many instances noticeable changes in consistency and flavour. Indeed, in certain of the propriety brands most readily available in normal outlets it is not unusual to find a marked difference in the moisture content and hence its performance in pouches purchased at different times even though the product is clearly of recent stock.
I was a regular purchaser of tobacco from Carey way back in the nineties then lost touch for quite a few years . At the start of this year I decided to return to Carey and right pleased I am that I did. Carey"s tobacco remains consistent month after month,year after year. It is of outstanding quality and its freshness can never be in doubt. I have a preference for Carey"s Bruno Special. It smokes long and well whether indoors or outdoors. I prefer it to the original but thats my choice.
Some folk may prefer aromatic tobaccos, some mild and some the heavy tobaccos. Everyone has different tastes. Of course we have otherwise our supermarkets would only stock the one cereal, the one brand of beans etc and we would all be driving the same cars in the same colour. I don"t profess to be an expert but 50 years experience must give me some credibility. I thoroughly recommend the Bruno Special but whatever tobacco you buy from Carey you can be sure it will be of a very fine quality and their will be a mix to suit everyone. And the service is outstanding too. Just the type that we over a certain age remember was the normal not so long ago and known as good old fashioned attention to customers. Something you youngsters missed out on in todays impersonal atmosphere of money grubbing high tech suppliers.
(Posted on 16/09/2015)
It's Good But.... Review by David
I have tried a number of Carey blends and particularly like the Old English mixtures. However, I had tried and preferred the original St Bruno and it is readily available locally, so it has become my standard smoke.

I tried this version as so far everything from Carey's has been very good. The tobacco is to me slightly drier than St Bruno and burns a little hotter. The flavour is good, but a little mellow in comparison and the after taste is not as pleasant.

As a tobacco in its own right, it is very good and I shall see the pack out, but as an alternative I am afraid I will stick to the original. (Posted on 02/09/2014)
Utterly enjoyable Review by Jade
Lovely mix - fine taste and burns nicely.

Great smoke. (Posted on 04/03/2013)
OUTSTANDING Review by Jimmy Lyall
Well I've been smoking St Bruno for some yrs now & i've also known about this Careys Special for sometime too but i've always thought 'why try a replica when you can have the origanal'. What a silly mistake that was, this blend is outstanding to say the least - its actually better than the original blend and i did not think i would ever be saying that. Its that good i've joined the Tobacco Club, just to make sure i get this all the time. Its taste is like nothing i've had before - yes you taste St Bruno original when smoking it but with more flavours in there which really make this a must try. I highly recommend everyone to try this. It gets 5+++++ from me and i'm looking forward to being part of the Careys Tobacco Club and receiving all the benefits you get with that. Why oh why did i not try this 2yrs ago, ive been missing so much? (Posted on 31/01/2013)
Cannot be bettered Review by Greygoose
I have smoked a pipe for over forty years and the only tobacco I really loved is no longer made. So I chopped and changed but found nothing at all satisfying. Then your Bruno tobacco was recommended to me and I feel as though I have 'come home.' A delightful smoke in every way. Please don't discontinue it! (Posted on 07/02/2012)
Simply Superb!! Review by doc'spipe
I want to thank you for your prompt service - only 10 days from the UK to the USA! I have never smoked the original St. Bruno and as such, can't compare yours to the original. However, yours is so perfect in every way that not having the "original" doesn't matter to me any longer. Your St. Bruno Special is simply one of the best smoking experiences I have ever had - and that is with over 35 years of smoking a pipe! Wonderful pouch aroma, a cool smoke, exquisite bouquette and room note. What more can one ask for? This is a complete, wonderful, smoking experience. Thank you again! (Posted on 31/01/2012)
5 Star smoking pleasure Review by Toots
I've smoked this tobacco for nearly 6 yrs and each time i open a new pouch the aroma sets my taste buds tingling.
To me it is a bowl full of instant satisfaction. (Posted on 27/12/2011)

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Carey's Bruno Special Pipe Tobacco 50gm Pouch

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Customer Rating